This exhibition was made possible through generous support by the Anheuser-Busch Companies and the Edward H. Daveis Benevolent Fund


Bill Barry
Nan Cumming

Nan Cumming
Mark Skinner
Duncan Smith
Tony Taylor

Installation: Mark Skinner, with assistance from Elizabeth Hogan

Reproductions: John Allen and Tony Taylor, Prostyle Design

Thank you to Our Generous Donors

Anheuser-Busch Companies
The Edward H. Daveis Benevolent Fund
National Distributors Inc.

Opening Reception
Acadia Trust N.A./Gouws Capital

Lecture Series
Lincoln National Life Insurance Co.

The Portland Newspapers

The Web Site was developed by the New Media Development Group, a division of Blethen Maine Newspapers, publisher of the Portland Press Herald.
Scott Carmichael - Manager
Jobe Doody - Lead Developer
Tara Connor - Content Coordinator
Justin Davis - Assistant Developer

This exhibition would not have been possible without these generous lenders

Herbert C. Adams
Will Anderson, The Great, State of Maine Beer Book
Bangor Historical Society
Debra Verrier Barry
Baxter Memorial Library
Bowdoin College Library, Special Collections
Burden Collection
Joyce Butler
The Herbert Cary Family
Charles and Joanne Cochrane
The First Parish in Portland, Maine Unitarian Universalist
W. L. Frost
Dave Evans, The Great Lost Bear
William B. Jordan, Jr.
Barbara Lannon
Maine Charitable Mechanic Association
Maine Historic Preservation Commission
Maine State Museum
Drew D. Masterman
John Matzke
Mothers Against Drunk Driving
National Gallery of Art
Bevinn O'Brien
Old York Historical Society, York, Maine
Old Sturbridge Village
Peabody Essex Museum
Pingree Family
Portland Museum of Art
Portland Public Library
Madelyn Provancher
Rumford Historical Society
Saint Louis Art Museum
Arlene Palmer Schwind
W. M. Schwind, Jr. Antiques
Geraldine Tidd Scott
Earle G. Shettleworth, Jr.
Mark Skinner
Timothy L. Smith
Janet and Ray Verrier
Victoria Mansion
York Institute Museum, Saco

We would like to thank the following people for their research assistance and advice:

Emerson W. Baker
Matthew J. Barker
Edgar M. W. Boyd
Eva Biggart-Brady
Charles E. Burden, M.D.
Joyce Butler
Jason Cons
Tom Hardiman
William B. Jordan, Jr.
Richard J. Kahn, M.D.
Arlene Palmer Schwind
Geraldine Tidd Scott
Jessica Skwire
Timothy L. Smith
William J. Volmar

Foyer | Lobby